Arvis Viguls (Latvia)

Arvis Viguls Arvis Viguls

Arvis Viguls was born in 1987 in Jēkabpils, Latvia. He is the author of four critically acclaimed poetry collections and a translator from English, Spanish, Russian, and South Slavic languages, as well as an editor at the literary magazine Strāva (Current). He has received the Latvian Annual Literature Prize for best debut (2009) and best translation (2022), among other awards. In 2017, the international literary project Literary Europe Live selected him as one of ten New Voices from Europe, and in 2022, he was shortlisted for the European Poet of Freedom Award 2024, an international literary prize organized by the city of Gdańsk. His most recent published translations are the short story collection Encyclopedia of the Dead by Danilo Kiš and the selected poetry of Ted Hughes (both 2023). His own work has been translated and published in more than 20 languages, including books of selected poems in Spanish, German, and Croatian. His latest poetry collection Blusu cirks (Flea Circus, 2021) will be published as a Polish translation in 2023.








Lietuvos kultūros taryba
Lietuvos Respublikos kutūros ministerija
EU: Creative Europe